top of page

A World of Opportunities


From the moment we arrive at university to pursue a language degree we are encouraged to do whatever we can to extend our cultural and linguistic knowledge. If it wasn’t difficult enough to find time during our studies to squeeze in that extra bit of vocab learning or to read the article that the lecturer recommended last week, seldom is it that we can truly expose ourselves to the language and its culture without paying an extortionate amount to travel and live in the respective country. For me, the DAAD provided me with this opportunity. I was fortunate enough to receive a scholarship which allowed me to participate in an international summer course offered by the Universität Tübingen throughout August 2017. Despite having to follow a relatively long process at the beginning, the unforgettable experiences and people I encountered were worth every second dedicated to personal statements, language tests and Lebensläufe. The course I had selected had been described as an intercultural course, whereby the participants not only attended 5 hours of German lessons every weekday, but also had the chance to participate in cultural activities and excursions provided by the university for free! At the time, this offer seemed too good to be true, but the course far surpassed all of my expectations. As well as punting on the River Neckar and excursions to Bayern for wine tastings, my level of German also improved by leaps and bounds! The classes were interactive and engaging and when I wasn’t in the classroom, my friends and I explored Tübingen, rented bikes for the day and organised trips to Heidelberg and the castle I could see from my kitchen window! This serves only as one example of the many opportunities which can await you. Of course, they are not handed to you on a plate, but you never know what will come your way if you’re passionate and willing to go that extra mile to enhance your university experience.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page